President's Message
Share |
Lee Stevens, MD
139th President of the LSMS


On Friday, January 25, 2019, Lee Stevens, MD, of Shreveport officially began his presidency of the Louisiana State Medical Society (LSMS). The LSMS House of Delegates, the official policy-making body for the organization, met the same day to discuss current health care issues, decide on a course of action for the coming year, and welcome its new leaders. Dr. Stevens’ wife, June, was also sworn in the same day as the 2019 President of the LSMS Alliance.

As president-elect for the society in 2018, Dr. Stevens spent the past year learning more about the society’s involvement in key health care issues at both the state and federal legislative levels.

 Beginning as a physician member, and later as a member of the board of governors, the AMA delegation, and now as your president -- I’ve always viewed the LSMS as a tremendous resource for Louisiana physicians,” Stevens said in his inauguration remarks.

Dr. Stevens received his undergraduate degree from the University of Texas and graduated from University of Texas Health Sciences Center. There, he completed a residency in Family Practice and also at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center in General Psychiatry. He is board certified in Psychiatry and currently holds positions as Chairman of Clinical Competency Committee and Vice-Chairman of Clinical Services at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Shreveport (LSUHSC-S), Department of Psychiatry. Dr. Stevens serves as Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at LSUHSC-S.

Dr. Stevens served as president of the Shreveport Medical Society in 2014.  He holds multiple memberships in professional associations such as American College of Psychiatrists, Past President of the Louisiana Psychiatric Medical Association, Shreveport Medical Society, Louisiana State Medical Society, Louisiana Medical Political Action Committee (LAMPAC) contributor, and American College of Emergency Physicians.

Tonight, I stand before you as the 20th LSMS president elected from Shreveport and let me tell you, if history is any indication, I’ve got some big North Louisiana shoes to fill,” added Stevens. He is proceeded in presidency by James Egan, MD, who served as the first president of the LSMS in 1878, James Willis, MD, and Joseph Knighton, MD, who later went on to have a hospital system named after them, and Patty Van Hook, MD, the first female president of the Society in 1922 – all from Shreveport.



Quarterly Message from the LSMS President


Dear LSMS Members:


The first quarterly meeting of the LSMS Board of Governors was held in Baton Rouge on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 and the following actions were taken.

  • The minutes of the Board of Governors meetings on December 22, 2018 and January 25, 2019 were approved as presented.
  • Dr. Jeremy Henderson, a pathologist from Covington, was appointed to a two-year term on the LSMS Board of Governors as the District 10 Alternate Councilor.
  • Dr. James Christopher, a general surgeon, also from Covington, was appointed to a two-year term on the LSMS Council on Legislation as the District 10 Alternate Councilor.

  • Directed the LSMS Executive Vice President to keep working on a multi-employer 401(k) option as a future member benefit of the society with a report back to the board.

  • Directed the LSMS Executive Vice President to formally request the LSMS Medical/Legal Interprofessional Committee to include the recently revised informed consent documents, as well as, the new LSBME rules related to due process rights for physicians be included in the 2019 update to the Medical/Legal Interprofessional Code.

  • If legislation is introduced during the 2019 legislative session to make Louisiana a state that participates in the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, the LSMS will support the direction and position of the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners on the issue.

  • Reaffirmed LSMS Policy 10.02, which states the LSMS is opposed to the Healthy Louisiana Medicaid program and/or the Louisiana Department of Health funding of abortions.

  • Adopted new policy stating the LSMS does not support work requirements as a criterion for Medicaid eligibility.

  • Informed the American Medical Association’s (AMA) Litigation Center that the LSMS did not wish to be a party to an amicus brief being filed jointly by the AMA and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists in the case of June Medical Center v Gee.   Additionally, voted to notify the AMA Litigation Center that they were free to file the amicus brief without including the LSMS if they so choose. 

  • The board also received updates and discussed current activities related to: the new D.O. school in Monroe, HealthSYNC of Louisiana, a LSMS sponsored IPA, the LSBME, the Louisiana Patients Compensation Fund (PCF) Oversight Board, outstanding LSMS directives from 2018 and 2019, the 2018 financial and operational audit and the January 2019 financial statements of the Louisiana State Medical Society and its affiliates.



Lee Stevens, MD